Galerie Fatiha Selam » SOPHIA DIXON DILLO

Artists

SOPHIA DIXON DILLO

 

Sophia Dixon Dillo, born in 1977, is an American artist living in Colorado who uses light as an active medium in her work. She grew up watching her father, artist Willard Dixon, paint in his studio. Struck by the power and simplicity of Mark Rothko’s paintings, she began to explore abstract painting in her early artist years. She began to work with light as a medium during her graduate studies at Colorado State University. It was there that she first linked together sculpture, painting and light, ultimately leading her away from the traditional means of painting.

Dillo is intrigued with how light can be both visible and invisible at the same time – always present, yet not always seen. Her works play with this internal contradiction in the nature of light. Through large-scale installations as well as minimal wall works, Dillo actively engages with this internal contradiction in the nature of light, between the materiality of the art object and the immateriality of light. As a result, the transparent, translucent, and reflective materials, in combination with all-over patterning create works that incorporate light and shadow on and between the surfaces. The result is the fusing of the materiality of art object with the immateriality of light, creating a multivalent visual experience that subtly changes as the viewer moves. Her work invites viewers to step out of usual mind of narrative thinking and into the field of the mind itself.

Dillo received a MFA from Colorado State University, studied at the Lacoste Ecole des Arts, and received her BA in Philosophy from Colorado College. She has exhibited throughout the U.S. and is collected internationally. Most recently she has exhibited at venues such as the Calvin Klein Collection in New York for the holiday installation, the Arvada Center for the Arts in Colorado, and at the Lora Schlesinger Gallery in Los Angeles. Her recent solo exhibition at the Lora Schlesinger Gallery in Los Angeles was chosen as ‘Pick of the Week’ by ArtWeek, LA and as a ‘Best Pick’ by collector Doug Simay.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook

Galerie Fatiha Selam » SOPHIA DIXON DILLO

Artistes

SOPHIA DIXON DILLO

Pour Sophia Dixon Dillo, née en 1977, la lumière est le médium actif au centre de son travail. Elle a grandi en observant son père, l’artiste Willard Dixon, peindre dans son atelier. Très marquée par le pouvoir des oeuvres de Mark Rothko, elle a d’abord exploré la peinture abstraite, avant de s’en éloigner après un exercise d’étude à l’Université de l’Etat du Colorado où elle lia pour la première fois sculpture, peinture et lumière, dans une recherche d’éterminante pour la suite de son travail.

Sophia Dixon Dillo est particulièrement intriguée par la nature à la fois visible et invisible de la lumière – toujours présente, mais pas toujours vue. Que ce soit à travers des installations à grande échelle ou des travaux de papiers minimalistes et subtils, son intérêt se porte sur la contradiction essentielle entre las matérialité de l’objet d’art et l’immatérialité de la lumière. Les qualifiés de réflexion translucide de ses installations et le caractère « all-over » des motifs de ses tableaux de papier créant une expérience plurielle qui demande l’implication physique et mentale du spectateur. Son travail invite celui-ci à sortir des trames de la pensée narrative classique pour accéder au champ de la pensée elle-même. « Light and Form » présente cette réflexion, par l’installation de voiles de mono-filaments sur lesquelles la lumière se rend visible, et par la presentation d’oeuvres papiers fonts les motif ne se révèlent qu’avec l’implication du spectateur.

Titulaire d’un BA (équivalent de la licence) en philosophie du Colorado College et d’un Master de Beau-arts (MFA) de l’Université de l’Etat du Colorado, Sophia Dixon Dillo a également étudié à l’Ecole des Arts de Lacoste en France. Elle a exposé dans tout l’Ouest des Etats-Unis, notamment au Fort Colins Museum of Contemporary Art et au Boulder Museum of Contemporary Art. Ses oeuvres font partie de collections dans le monde entier. Elle vient tout juste d’achever des installations de fils de cuivre dans le principal magasin Calvin Klein de New York. L’artiste a également récemment exposé à l’arcade Center for the Arts in Colorado, et à la Galerie Lora Schlesinger à Los Angeles où son exposition personnelle « Emergence » a été remarqué par ArtWeek dans l’une de ses sélections hebdomadaires (« Pick of the Week ») et par l’important collectionneur californien Doug Simay en tant que « Best Pick ».

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook